Resource head



Board of Directors

Sharon Killian, President, NWA-AAHA, is a visual artist and educator who has worked both in medical education settings and in the art classroom. Sharon combines her skills and interests to help build strong community through history.

Timothy Klinger is an attorney and director of Historic Preservation Associates, LLC, a fully integrated team of professional archeologists, historians, architectural historians, and anthropologists dedicated to the study of cultural resources throughout the mid-west, southeast, plains and adjacent areas.

Robert Lafferty, Ph.D. is principal investigator and vice president of Mid-Continental Research Associates, Inc. His 41 years of archeological experience in excavation and analysis has included, in part, over 20 multidisciplinary projects, both pre-historic and historic, in Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Oklahoma, and Yucatan. His specialty is archeology concentrating on the lower Mississippi Valley and the Ozark Mountains.

Phil Deffebaugh was born and raised in Fayetteville, Arkansas, attended Lincoln Elementary, Woodland Jr. High and graduated from Fayetteville High School in 1970.  He attended Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Missouri, worked and traveled before returning to Fayetteville in 1975.  Phil worked for over nine years with Love Box company and recently retired from Tyson Foods after 28 ½ years.  Mr. Deffebaugh was a trustee on the Board of the Boys and Girls club and was instrumental in the conception and formation of the current state-of-the-art community facility.  In 2003 he traveled with St. James Methodist Church to East Africa to build four churches in three weeks.  He is married to his high school sweetheart, Glenda, has one child, Karena and one grandchild, Ariana who all still live in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Susan Ritchie, MN, RN, Treasurer of NWA-AAHA, is a retired clinical assistant professor at the UAMS College of Nursing. She has a particular interest in how disease affects communities.

Charles F. Robinson, III, Ph.D., is vice chancellor for diversity and community at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. He is a professor of history and was the director of the Univeristy's African and African American studies program. Dr. Robinson's focus is reaching out to underrepresented students across the state of Arkansas with a commitment to prepare students for college before they arrive and providing academic support services that first-generation college students need to succeed and feel they are a welcome and necessary part of the university community.

George Sabo, III, Ph.D. is director of the Arkansas Archeological Survey and professor in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Arkansas. He has been a firm supporter of NWA-AAHA since its inception and joined the board in 2013.

Jeannie M. Whayne, is professor in the Department of History at the University of Arkansas. She has published over a dozen articles and essays on Arkansas, African American, and Southern history. Jeannie's recent book is tentatively titled, Forging a Delta Empire: Lee Wilson and the Making of a Twentieth Century Plantation System.

Our Base

All of the individuals mentioned below help the Association to live and breathe. Their participation with us to accomplish all tasks to move our mission forward is invaluable. Be aware that this list is never complete:

Charles Killian, Larry Nixon, Connie Lytle-Burklow, Azande Whitfield, JoAnne Goodley, Artie Funkhouser, Jimmye Whitfield, Gladys Parker Slaughter, Glenda Deffebaugh, Henry Childress, Sr., Donna Hahn, Aiden Jenkins, Lynn and Elaine Wade...